The Ice Commander

On the moon, just after the giant leap.
(1930-2012)

Neil Armstrong, the first human being to set foot on another celestial body, has died.  Just 43 years after his historic 2 hours and 31 minute walk on the moon during the Apollo 11 mission, he was 82.

The Economist, as usual, has a beautiful remembrance. It is definitely worth your time.

Image credit: NASA and Edwin E. Aldrin, Jr.

About James Urton

I went to school to become a molecular biologist.  At some point in this long education, I discovered that I love communicating science to the general public: talks, writing, at a pub, on the street corner...  Whatever venue will let me hold your attention for a few moments.  Unfortunately, I can't do this for a living, since no one will pay me.  So, I have a job as a molecular biologist at the University of Washington, where I get to work with great scientists on some really awesome projects, and I'll blog about science here at Muller's Ratchet in my spare time. Why should the general public want to know anything about science? Here's my explanation (which also explains why I chose the name Muller's Ratchet for this site). Briefly as a graduate student (before I had to devote all of my time to graduating), I blogged at Adaptive Radiation.
This entry was posted in Astronomy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

